Tag Archives: August 5


Koufax is offering up a taste of their upcoming album Strugglers with a digital release of the first single “Any Moment Now” on August 5th. With a crazy horn section and tales of a shady downtown drug deal, the frantic funkiness exudes the musicianship and wit that sets Koufax apart from the pack. Also available is the exclusive b-side “George Michael Issues”- a look at the distracting popstar scandals that fill our news while more important issues remain unnoticed. This one, as most know, takes place in a Beverly Hills bathroom.

Our neighbors to the north at the blog Muzak for Cybernetics are offering the album’s title track and states, “If you ask me, not enough people have heard this band… If you’re into poppy piano ballads and dreamy synthesizers, this is one band you definitely must check out. Considering the fact that they sound kind of similar to Spoon, I’m surprised they haven’t completely lit up the blogosphere by now.”

Strugglers hits stores September 23rd via Doghouse Records. The 10-song collection of hip-shakin’ rock and indie-pop bliss is sure to be one of this fall’s must-have albums. With lyrical strength and a delivery that Rolling Stone calls “dramatic, Morrissey-like crooning,” Robert Suchan ranks as one of the most talented (though often underappreciated) frontmen in the game.

Returning from his Czech outpost, Suchan and band hit the road in August including select dates with Smoking Popes. Current dates include…


10- Record Bar- Kansas City, MO*
11- The Loft- Dallas, TX*
12- Mohawk- Austin, TX*
14- Rhythm Room- Phoenix, AZ*
15- Knitting Factory- Los Angeles, CA*
16- Slim’s- San Francisco, CA*
17- Satellite Lounge- Reno, NV
18- Kilby Court- Salt Lake City, UT
19- Larimer Lounge- Denver, CO
21- Triple Rock- Minneapolis, MN
22- Pabst Theater-Milwaukee, WI
23- Bottom Lounge- Chicago, IL
24- Bluebird- St. Louis, MO
29- Howard’s Club H- Bowling Green, OH
30- Rumba- Columbus, OH

* w/ Smoking Popes

Leave a comment

Filed under CD Release, New Song, Tour Dates


THE ANTI MOTHER has arrived–and NORMA JEAN wrestle her to the ground, with the most furious, and yet melodic, music of their career.

Atlanta-based post-hardcore heroes are streaming their fourth studio album THE ANTI MOTHER album in its entirety on MySpace www.myspace.com/normajean to preview the August 5 release via indie Solid State.

Catch Norma Jean on tour!

07/28              Englishtown, NJ                      Raceway Park

07/29              Pittsburgh, PA                         Post Gazette Pavilion

07/30              Cincinnati, OH                         Riverbend Music Center

07/31              Indianapolis, IN                        Verizon Wireless Music Center

08/01              Milwaukee, WI                         Marcus Amphitheatre

08/02              Chicago, IL                              First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre

08/03              Minneapolis, MN                      Canterbury Park

08/05              Saskatoon, SK                        Credit Union Centre

08/06              Calgary, AB                             Race City Speedway

08/08               Boise, ID                                 Idaho Center Amphitheatre

08/09               Seattle, WA                            Gorge Amphitheatre

08/10               Portland, OR                          Columbia Meadows

Norma Jean

08/12                 Chico, CA                               Senator Theatre

Warped Tour

08/13                 Fresno, CA                          Save Mart Center

08/14                 San Diego, CA                    Cricket Wireless Amphitheatre

08/15                 San Francisco, CA             Shoreline Amphitheatre

08/16                 Sacramento, CA                 Sleep Train Amphitheatre Lot

08/17                 Los Angeles, CA                 Home Depot Center

Revelation Generation

08/30                 Frenchtown, NJ                    Revelation Farms

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized


Closure In Moscow, a five-piece from down under, is looking to widen its fan base with its catchy, yet melodic, brand of progressive, avant-garde rock. The band’s debut EP The Penance & The Patience (which was originally released in Australia on Taperjean Records and debuted at No. 13 on the Australian Independent Album Charts) will be available as a digital-only release in the U.S. starting August 5 via Science Records.

Having taken on odd jobs to self-finance their EP, or albumette as they say in Australia, the band members (vocalist Chris De Cinque, guitarists Manny Zennelli and Michael Barrett, bassist Brad Kimber and drummer Beau) even sold their cars to fly out producer Kris Crummett (Kaddisfly, Dance Gavin Dance) to their hometown of Melbourne to record.

Reminiscent of The Mars Volta, Circa Survive, and Chiodos, Closure in Moscow has more in common with complex, seasoned bands like Rush and Tool than they do with fellow Aussie rockers AC/DC; pretty impressive for a band whose average age is 21.

Currently selling out shows all over Australia and touring with the likes of Coheed and Cambria, the band will head Stateside in September to begin writing songs for their upcoming full-length release which should be out late ‘08/early ‘09. A fall U.S. tour  from September through November is in the works right now.

Check out the band’s video for “We Want Guarantees, Not Hunger Pains” at www.youtube.com/watch?v=xpu9s6aafws 

Leave a comment

Filed under Press Release